Twelve Students, Eight Educators Honored at 8th Annual Sacco Awards

The William J. Sacco Critical Thinking Foundation held their annual awards banquet on Sunday, March 10, 2019 at Liberatore’s Ristorante in Bel Air and honored 20 mathematics students and teachers.

More than 110 students, educators, school representatives and friends of the foundation gathered for the eighth annual banquet to celebrate the achievements of many and see who would be named Math Student and Teacher of the year.

The Foundation honors high school seniors in Harford County, MD who excel in the area of mathematics, along with the educators from their schools who are dedicated to helping students in this field.

There’s also an award given out to a student who is heavily involved in their community and helping their fellow classmates in mathematics as well as the Mike Franklin Computing Award given to a student who plans to attend school and further their education in the computer science field.

The 2019 class of honorees featured students and teachers from 10 different Harford County high schools. There were twelve students and eight teachers honored including Math Student of the Year, Megan Schall, from Havre De Grace High School.

Schall is at the top of her class among 126 students. She currently has a 4.5 GPA and is the treasurer of the National Honor Society, the secretary of the Key Club, as well as a member of the Marching Band, Volleyball Team, Swimming Team, Tennis Team, Academic Team and an Assistant Coach of the Aberdeen Penguins Swim Team. She intends to major in Biology and her top choice of schools is the University of Maryland at College Park.

The Math Teacher of the Year was Courtney Von Lange, from The John Carroll School.

Von Lange teaches 9th, 11th and 12th graders in wide variety of classes such as Algebra II, Honors Algebra II, AP Calc BC, Honors Trigonometry, Intro to Engineering and Environmental Science. She also serves as the Math Department Chair, is coordinator of the Math League, serves on the Facilities Committee, and has coached Cross Country, Indoor Track and Outdoor Track for four years.

See below for a complete list of the 2019 winners.


Madisyn Ames – North Harford High School

Isaac Butz – The John Carroll School

Marley Downes – Fallston High School

Tanisha Grimsley – Aberdeen High School

Luke Hahn – Havre De Grace High School (Community Award)

Alec Kolodziejczyk – Science & Math Academy at Aberdeen High School

Stephanos Mulder-Stoupakis – Joppatowne High School

Mona Parisi – Patterson Mill High School

Tucker Ray – The John Carroll School (Mike Franklin Computing Award)

Megan Schall – Havre De Grace High School

Sianna Serio – Bel Air High School

Alex Stevenson – C. Milton Wright High School


Alison Austin – North Harford High School

Sara Bailey – Patterson Mill High School

Laurie Bates – Bel Air High School

Lindsay Beyer – Aberdeen High School

Wendy Butz – C. Milton Wright High School

Mikayla Corday – Joppatowne High School

Karry Nusbaum – Havre De Grace High School

Courtney Von Lange – The John Carroll School

For more information, please click here to see the article featured in AEGIS

Please be sure to “like” the William J. Sacco Foundation on Facebook to stay in the know on all foundation happenings and updates.